Advantages and disadvantages

The castration of dogs and cats - What to consider?

Our recommendation

With every castration, the advantages and disadvantages should be weighed up and a decision made individually for each animal. A complete clinical examination before castration is a matter of course in order to minimise the risk of anaesthesia as far as possible.

  • Basically, we recommend neutering for all dogs and cats that are not intended for breeding.
  • Very "hormone-controlled" animals should be neutered to avoid the stress.
  • Bitches suffering from extreme false pregnancy should be spayed.
  • Patients at risk (e.g. with diseases or degenerations of the genital organs) should be castrated.
  • If any offspring cannot be raised or placed in an animal welfare-friendly manner, the animal should be neutered.

What is castration?

Neutering in veterinary medicine is the surgical procedure in which the reproductive organs are removed. Depending on the procedure, only the ovaries or ovaries and uterus are removed from the bitch and cat, and the testicles are removed from the male dog and cat. 

Sterilisation is the ligation of the fallopian tube or spermatic cord. This is rarely done in veterinary medicine, as one usually also wants to stop the behaviour and the urge to reproduce.

Optimal time

For neutering, the animal should be fully grown. Growth is usually completed with the change of teeth (at about 6 months), in some large breeds only later. We do not recommend castration at an earlier stage, as this can lead to growth and joint problems. In bitches, the optimal time is shortly before or after the first heat.

Why castrate?

The main reason for deciding to neuter is certainly to prevent offspring and reproductive behaviour. A cat in heat can be very stressful for the owner and a "hormone-controlled" male cat loves to mark his territory with urine. In dogs, the hormones can sometimes lead to changes in temperament, false pregnancies and psychological stress.

Higher life expectancy

Studies show that neutered animals have a higher life expectancy. This can be explained by the fact that male animals in particular are more willing to take risks due to the testosterone (male sex hormone) and there are more power and territorial fights. Many female uncastrated animals develop changes and degenerations of the uterus and mammary gland in old age (in approx. 25 % of uncastrated dogs and cats). Pyometra (suppuration of the uterus) is an absolute emergency and can also lead to the death of the animal. Carcinomas or other tumours of the mammary gland can quickly metastasise and thus also affect the lungs or other organs. Uncastrated male animals have a significantly higher risk of developing testicular tumours or prostate changes.

Psychological stress

The reproductive organs are made to produce offspring and in the wild our dogs and cats would regularly live this out to the full. The constant "signal" of the hormones to reproduce, but not being allowed to act out this drive, leads to a high psychological stress and sometimes to aggression in some animals.
Some bitches develop a false pregnancy, which means that the body adjusts itself to a pregnancy although the animal is not pregnant. Sometimes there are changes of temperament and the beginning of milk production. This is a relic of the dog's ancestor, the wolf, and had the purpose that if a mother dies in a wolf pack, all other females can take over and raise the pups.

General anaesthesia necessary

Every anaesthetic carries a certain risk, although modern anaesthetic methods in veterinary medicine are relatively safe and the risk can be minimised as far as possible through good anaesthetic management. When neutering is planned, the animals are usually young and healthy and therefore have a very low anaesthetic risk. 

Not every behavioural disorder is caused by hormones

Neutering is not the solution to every behavioural problem or disobedience. Neutering can only improve hormonal behavioural problems. If an animal is fundamentally aggressive or disobedient, then work must be done with a dog trainer.

Weight gain after castration

Weight gain is often attributed to castration. It is important to remember that the body has a lower energy requirement after the removal of the sexual organs and the diet should be adjusted accordingly. Puppy food, which provides a very high energy density for growth, should not be fed to an adult and neutered animal. Neutering is carried out at the age when an animal goes from being a playful and active puppy to an adult and therefore already has a lower energy requirement.

Incontinence in the bitch

After the spaying of bitches, especially of large breeds, a small percentage of animals may develop urinary incontinence in old age. The exact cause is not yet fully understood and there are several theories. In most cases, this can be controlled with medication that strengthens the urinary sphincter muscle.

Always assess studies critically

There are many studies on castration in dogs and cats, but one should always judge them critically. If a study was carried out with only 10 animals and these were possibly predominantly e.g. St. Bernards (which according to studies tend to have tumours), this is not particularly meaningful. 

An extensive study on the advantages and disadvantages and the best time for castration was conducted by the College of Veterinary Medicine Texas with a large animal population. It shows the overwhelming advantages of castration, but also critically addresses the optimal timing of castration. 

Alternatives to castration

There is also the possibility of chemical castration. Here, a small hormone implant is placed under the skin. The effect lasts 6 - 12 months, depending on the preparation. Other hormones to suppress the sex drive can also be given orally or as an injection. These options should only be used as a short-term solution, as the hormone influence can also trigger diseases again in the long term.

Especially the castration of dogs is a very controversial topic and there are many different studies and aspects that should be considered.

We will be happy to advise you on further questions regarding the neutering of your four-legged friend.

Book online appointment

Bookable everywhere and at any time

Use the possibility to book an appointment online. So we can take time for your request and save you and your pet unnecessary waiting time. 

Appointment vet Uderns

Vor - und Nachteile

Die Kastration von Hund und Katze

Unsere Empfehlung

Bei jeder Kastration sollten die Vor – und Nachteile abgewogen und individuell für jedes Tier eine Entscheidung getroffen werden. Eine komplette klinische Untersuchung vor der Kastration ist selbstverständlich, um das Risiko der Narkose weitestgehend zu minimieren.

  • Grundlegend empfehlen wir bei allen Hunden und Katzen die nicht für die Zucht vorgesehen sind die Kastration.
  • Sehr „hormongesteuerte“ Tiere sollten um den Stress zu vermeiden kastriert werden.
  • Hündinnen die unter extremer Scheinträchtigkeit leiden sollten kastriert werden.
  • Risikopatienten (z.B. bei Erkrankungen oder Entartungen der Geschlechtsorgane) sollten kastriert werden.
  • Sollten ein eventueller Nachwuchs nicht tierschutzgerecht aufgezogen oder vermittelt werden können sollte das Tier kastriert werden.

Was ist eine Kastration?

Die Kastration in der Tiermedizin ist der operative Eingriff, bei dem die Reproduktionsorgane entfernt werden. Bei der Hündin und Katze werden je nach Eingriff nur die Eierstöcke oder Eierstöcke und Gebärmutter entfernt, beim Rüden und Kater die Hoden. 

Eine Sterilisation ist das Abbinden des Eileiters oder Samenstranges. Dies wird in der Tiermedizin selten durchgeführt, da man meist auch das Verhalten und den Drang zur Fortpflanzung unterbinden will.

Optimaler Zeitpunkt

Für die Kastration sollte das Tier komplett ausgewachsen sein. Das Wachstum ist in der Regel mit dem Zahnwechsel (mit ca. 6 Monaten) abgeschlossen, bei einigen großen Rassen erst später. Von einer Kastration zu einem früheren Zeitpunkt raten wir ab, da dies zu Wachstums – und Gelenksproblemen führen kann. Bei der Hündin ist der optimale Zeitpunkt kurz vor oder nach der ersten Läufigkeit.

Warum kastrieren?

Der Hauptgrund für die Entscheidung zu einer Kastration ist sicherlich die Nachwuchsverhütung und die Verhinderung des Fortpflanzungsverhaltens. Die Rolligkeit eine Katze kann sehr anstrengend für den Besitzer sein und ein „hormongesteuerter“ Kater liebt es sein Revier mit Harn zu markieren. Bei Hunden kann es zum Teil zu Wesensveränderungen, Scheinträchtigkeiten und psychologischem Stress durch die Hormone kommen.

Höhere Lebenserwartung

Studien zeigen, dass kastrierte Tiere eine höhere Lebenserwartung haben. Dies erklärt sich dadurch, dass vor allem männliche Tiere durch das Testosteron (männliches Geschlechtshormon) eine höhere Risikobereitschaft haben und es häufiger zu Macht – und Revierkämpfen kommt. Viele weibliche unkastrierte Tieren erkranken im Alter an Veränderungen und Entartungen der Gebärmutter und Milchleiste (bei ca. 25 % der unkastrierten Hunden und Katzen). Eine Pyometra (Gebärmuttervereiterung) ist ein absoluter Notfall und kann auch zum Tod des Tieres führen. Karzinome oder andere Tumoren der Milchleiste können rasch Metastasen bilden und somit auch Lunge oder andere Organe befallen. Unkastrierte männliche Tiere haben ein deutlich höheres Risiko an Hodentumoren oder Prostataveränderungen zu erkranken.

Psychologischer Stress

Die Fortpflanzungsorgane sind zur Nachwuchszeugung gemacht und in freier Wildbahn würden unsere Hunde und Katzen dies auch regelmäßig voll ausleben. Das ständige „Signal“ der Hormone sich fortzupflanzen, diesen Trieb aber nicht ausleben zu dürfen führt bei einigen Tieren zu einem hohen psychologischen Stress und zum Teil zu Aggression.
Einige Hündinnen entwickeln eine Scheinträchtigkeit, dies bedeutet, der Körper stellt sich auf eine Trächtigkeit ein obwohl das Tier nicht trächtig ist. Zum Teil kommt es zu Wesensveränderungen und beginnender Milchproduktion. Dies ist ein Relikt des Vorfahren des Hundes, der Wölfe, und hatte den Sinn, dass falls in einem Wolfsrudel eine Mutter stirbt, alle anderen weiblichen Tiere die Welpen übernehmen und aufziehen können.

Vollnarkose nötig

Jede Narkose birgt ein gewisses Risiko, wobei moderne Narkosemethoden in der Tiermedizin relativ sicher sind und durch ein gutes Narkosemanagement das Risiko weitestgehend minimiert werden kann. Bei einer geplanten Kastration sind die Tiere in der Regel jung und gesund und haben somit ein sehr niedriges Narkoserisiko. 

Nicht jede Verhaltensauffälligkeit wird durch Hormone verurschacht

Eine Kastration ist nicht die Lösung für jedes Verhaltensproblem oder Ungehorsam. Durch eine Kastration können nur hormonell bedingte Verhaltensauffälligkeiten verbessert werden. Ist ein Tier grundlegend aggressiv oder ungehorsam dann muss mit einem Hundetrainer gearbeitet werden.

Gewichtszunahme nach der Kastration

Häufig wird eine Gewichtszunahme der Kastration zugeschuldet. Hier muss man bedenken, dass der Körper nach dem Entfernen der Geschlechtsorgane einen niedrigeren Energiebedarf hat und die Ernährung sollte demensprechend angepasst werden. Es sollte nicht das Welpenfutter, welches eine sehr hohe Energiedichte für das Wachstum liefert, einem ausgewachsenen und kastriertem Tier weitergefüttert werden. Die Kastration wird in dem Alter durchgeführt wo ein Tier vom verspielten aktivem Welpen zu einem Erwachsenen wird und somit sowieso schon einen niedrigeren Energiebedarf hat.

Inkontinenz bei der Hündin

Nach der Kastration von Hündinnen vor allem von großen Rassen kann es im Alter bei einem kleinen Prozentsatz der Tiere zu einer Harninkontinenz kommen. Die genaue Ursache ist noch nicht ganz geklärt und es gibt mehrere Theorien. Meist kann dies mit Medikamenten die den Harn – Schließmuskel stärken in den Griff bekommen werden.

Studien immer kritisch beurteilen

Es gibt viele Studien zur Kastration bei Hund und Katze, allerdings sollte man diese immer kritisch beurteilen. Wenn eine Studie mit nur 10 Tieren durchgeführt wurde und dies eventuell auch noch überwiegend z.B. Bernhardiner waren (die laut Studien gehäuft zu Tumoren neigen) ist dies nicht besonders aussagekräftig. 

Eine umfangreiche Studie zu den Vor – und Nachteilen und dem besten Zeitpunkt der Kastration wurde  vom College of Veterinary Medicine Texas mit einer großen Tierpopulation durchgeführt. Sie zeigt die überwiegenden Vorteile der Kastration, geht aber auch kritisch auf den optimalen Zeitpunkt der Kastration ein. 

Alternativen zur Kastration

Es gibt auch die Möglichkeit der Chemischen Kastration. Hier wird ein kleines Hormonimplantat unter die Haut gesetzt. Die Wirkung hält je nach Präparat 6 – 12 Monate an. Auch andere Hormone zur Unterdrückung des Sexualtriebes können oral oder als Injektion gegeben werden. Diese Möglichkeiten sollten nur als kurzzeitige Lösung genutzt werden, da durch den Hormoneinfluss langfristig auch wieder Erkrankungen ausgelöst werden können.

Vor allem die Kastration des Hundes ist ein sehr kontrovers diskutiertes Thema und es gibt sehr viele unterschiedliche Studien und Aspekte die berücksichtigt werden sollten.

Wir beraten dich gerne bei weiteren Fragen zur Kastration deines Vierbeiners.

Aktuelles

Kastration

Bei jeder Kastration sollten die Vor – und Nachteile abgewogen und individuell für jedes Tier eine Entscheidung getroffen werden.

weiter >
Aktuelles

Narkose bei Hund und Katze

Jede Narkose, egal ob beim Tier oder beim Menschen, birgt ein gewisses Risiko und verständlicherweise ist man als Tierbesitzer in Sorge um das Wohlergehen seines Vierbeiners.

weiter >
Aktuelles

Impfung

Nicht nur bei jungen Tieren sondern vor allem im Alter, wenn die Infektabwehr herabgesetzt ist, kann Impfen Leben retten.

weiter >